Feel the Tide Turning

ABOVE: The Butler Collegian’s beautiful new computers– how I miss them!

I’m sorry I haven’t blogged in the past two weeks! Every day, I always jot something down that I would like to blog about, and then once I get home I can never find the time.

In my last entry, I spoke about an exciting development in my future that I was looking forward to but I couldn’t speak of just yet. Well, after two weeks of extremely grueling, detail-oriented work, I can proudly say that the online version of The Butler Collegian is finally in its final stages of completion! Whew! I wasn’t entirely sure that the site would be ready when I last posted so I didn’t want to prematurely start publicizing the new site.

That actually turned out to be a good decision, because there have been a few bumps and bruises along the way and back on the 9th, it was nowhere near where it is today.

I would like to take a moment to thank the people who were most instrumental in helping make the site happen. First and foremost, Dr. Nancy Whitmore, director of the Eugene S. Pulliam School of Journalism at Butler University, has been such a helpful, efficient, and eager leader of this whole project and it frankly would not have been possible without her help and openness to staff’s desire to upgrade our site.

I would also like to thank Arika Herron, the current editor-in-chief of The Butler Collegian, for being a sounding board and great partner for me within each and every stage of the site’s development, on top of being in charge of the editorial and content sides of the newspaper.

The Collegian has come such a long way in the past year, and I look forward to continuing to grow as a staff and a newspaper. I think we keep proving to people that we may be small, but we are mighty. The 14 awards we won in 2009 from the Indiana Collegiate Press Association are a marker of that.

In any case, I am extremely proud of the website we helped build, and looking forward to many more upgrades in the coming year.

About hayleighcolombo

Welcome to my online portfolio. I am currently a sophomore at Butler University. I am pursuing a double major in news editorial journalism and political science and a minor in French language. View all posts by hayleighcolombo

4 responses to “Feel the Tide Turning

  • Michael Colombo

    Hayleigh, the effort put into the revitilization of the on-line version of the Butler Collegian have sure paid off. It looks good and feels right, meaning it is commfortable to navigate and easy to read. I think its very current in presentation, very on par with the sites I visit everyday. Lookin forward to following the Bulldogs on-line this winter/spring!

  • Daniel Domsic

    The site is such a far cry from the dawgnet days. Keep up the great work, and I hope you’re loving every minute of DC.

    -Dan

  • Loni McKown

    Hayleigh: The Butler Collegian online site looks terrific. It’s wonderful to see the news online, as well as in print — and wonderful to see news online BEFORE it makes it into print! The redesign is clean and attractive. The site is easy to navigate. In addition to the news, there are lots of interesting features for readers to click on (I love having the archive issues online). Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

